Die Liebe ist die Seele der Mission

 

Weisheit 7,7-11
Psalm 89
Hebräer 4,12-13
Markus 10,17-30

Überlegungen

„In der Welt gibt es genug für die Bedürfnisse von allen, aber nicht genug für die Habgier eines jeden“ (Gandhi). Worte eines Nicht-Christen in Übereinstimmung mit der ernsten Unterweisung Jesu über den Gebrauch der zeitlichen Güter und die Gefahr des Reichtums. Der Evangelist Markus begleitet den Katechumenen und den Jünger bei einer fortschreitenden Entdeckung der „frohen Botschaft von Jesus Christus, dem Sohn Gottes“ (1,1), indem er schrittweise seine Identität durch die Wunder und die Unterweisungen enthüllt. Am zentralen Abschnitt seines Evangeliums angelangt, fügt Markus die anspruchsvollsten Forderungen der christlichen Moral ein, die er um drei Themen gruppiert: die Bedingungen, um Jesus zu folgen (sich selbst verleugnen, das Kreuz auf sich nehmen: 8,32-38); die Forderungen des Familienlebens (Unauflöslichkeit der Ehe, Liebe und Respekt für die Kinder: 10,2-16); der Gebrauch der Güter (Gefahr des Reichtums, der Lohn für den, der die irdischen Güter aufgibt: 10,17-31).
Diese drei Themen werden skandiert von drei Ankündigungen des Leidens und der Auferstehung (8,31; 9,31; 10,32-34); und es werden drei Wunder Jesu eingefügt, der zwei Blinden die Augen öffnet: der Blinde von Betsaida (8,22-25) und der Blinde von Jericho (10,46-52). Höchst bedeutungsvoll sind die Worte, die Jesus an diesen Blinden richtet: „Geh, dein Glaube hat dich gesund gemacht“. Und der Blinde, nun geheilt, wird ein Jünger und folgt Jesus. Im heutigen Evangelium sagt Markus, daß der Weg der christlichen Moral – und somit, das Heil! – „unmöglich ist für die Menschen, aber nicht für Gott!“ (V. 27). Alles ist möglich für Gott, der uns die Augen öffnet für den Weg, den es zu gehen gilt, und uns mit dem Glauben die Kraft gibt, ihn zu befolgen.
Christus lädt dazu ein, den Personen den ersten Platz einzuräumen, und nicht den materiellen Gütern; Er ist für die Armen, aber gegen die Armut; er redet nicht für die Armut, sondern für die Gemeinschaft; die Güter haben nur dann einen Sinn, wenn sie Zeichen und Mittel der Begegnung mit den andern im gegenseitigen Teilen sind. Jesus verurteilt nicht den Reichtum in absoluter Weise und er singt nicht das Lob des Elends und des Hungers, sondern lehrt, wie die Güter zu benutzen sind: mit Ehrlichkeit, Gerechtigkeit und Liebe. Dem jungen Mann des Evangeliums, „der ein großes Vermögen hatte“ (V. 22) und treu war in der Erfüllung der Gebote (V. 20) schenkt Jesus einen Blick voll Liebe (V. 21), indem er ihn einlädt, über die Erfüllung des Gesetzes hinauszugehen und einen Qualitätssprung zu machen: nämlich, in die Logik der Liebe und des Teilens des Vermögens mit den Armen einzutreten. In dieser Weise behauptet man seine eigene Freiheit den Dingen gegenüber, die zwar schön und gut sind, von denen man jedoch nicht abhängig und gefangen bleiben darf. Nur so läßt sich das Leben in Freiheit leben: als Geschenk und Teilen mit den andern. In der Nachfolge des Herrn (V. 21) entdeckt man den Reichtum und die Freude des Schatzes ..
Der Weise (I. Lesung) entdeckt, daß die Weisheit, die von Gott kommt, mehr wert ist als die Reichtümer, mehr als Gesundheit und Schönheit (V. 9-10). Das Wort Gottes, „lebendig und kraftvoll“ (II. Lesung), das den Sinn der Dinge und die Tiefe des menschlichen Herzens ergründet (V. 12), läßt verstehen, daß im Christentum die Haupttugend nicht die Armut ist und auch nicht das Loslassen der Dinge, sondern die Liebe, verstanden als Hingabe seiner selbst und seiner eigenen Dinge in einem Dienst der Liebe für die Andern. Darum ist „die Liebe die Seele der Mission“: die Liebe drängt zur Mission und Solidarität. Die Liebe ist Zeichen und Mittel der Gemeinschaft unter den Kirchen, im Austausch der Gaben. (*)
Die Worte Jesu an den jungen Reichen haben in diesem Missionsmonat Oktober eine eigene Resonanz: Geh... gib den Armen... komm und folge mir. Die Mission ist ein Gehen, sie ist immer ein Ausziehen aus sich selbst, sie ist Ein-sich-freuen im Finden eines Schatzes. Davon zeugen die großen Missionare, deren der Kalender im Monat Oktober gedenkt: Franz von Assisi, Daniele Comboni, Johannes XXIII, Theresia von Avila, die heiligen kanadischen Märtyrer, Laura Montoya, Antonio Maria Claret…

Wort des Papstes

(*)  „Der missionarische Elan ist stets Zeichen der Lebendigkeit unserer Kirchen gewesen (vgl. Redemptoris missio, 2). … Deshalb bitte ich alle Katholiken um das Gebet zum Heiligen Geist, daß er in der Kirche die Leidenschaft für die Mission wachsen lasse, das Reich Gottes zu verbreiten und die Missionare und Missionarinnen zu unterstützen wie auch die christlichen Gemeinden, die sich an vorderster Front, bisweilen in einem feindlichen Umfeld der Verfolgung, für diese Sendung einsetzen. Zugleich lade ich alle ein, die Gemeinschaft unter den Kirchen durch die materielle Unterstützung glaubhaft zu bezeugen, insbesondere auch in der Zeit der Krise, die die Menschheit gegenwärtig erlebt, damit die jungen Ortskirchen in der Lage sind, die Völker mit dem Evangelium der Liebe zu erleuchten.“

Benedikt XVI
Botschaft zum Weltmissionsonntag 2009

 Auf den Spuren der Missionare

- 4-25/10:        Feier der Zweiten Afrikanischen Synode in Rom.

- 11/10:           Sel. Joannes XXIII (Angelo Giuseppe Roncalli, 1881-1963), der „gute Papst“, der 1959 das II. Vatikanische Konzil einberief und es am 11. Oktober 1962 eröffnete.

- 12/10:           Gedächtnis von 4966 Märtyrern und Bekennern (+483) während der Verfolgung der Vandalen des arianischen Königs Hunnerich in Nordafrika.

-12/10: Fest der Madonna „Aparecida“, Patronin Brasiliens, besonders bei den Afrobrasilianern beliebt.

-12/10: Gedächtnis von Simon Kimbangu (+1951), Gründer der unabhängigen Kirche der Kimbanguisten im Kongo.

- 15/10:           Hl. Theresia von Jesus (Avila, 1515-1582), Reformatorin des Karmels und Gründerin neuer Klöster; Kirchenlehrerin wegen ihrer tiefen mystischen Erfahrung des Geheimnisses Gottes.

- 16/10:           Hl. Margareta Maria Alacoque (1647-1690), vom französischen Kloster der Heimsuchung in Paray-le-Monial, wo sie besondere Erscheinungen des Heiligsten Herzens hatte, förderte auch die Einsetzung des Herz-Jesu Festes.

- 16/10:           Sel. Agostino Thevarparampil (1891-1973), Priester aus Indien, mit dem volkstümlichen Namen „Kunjachan“ (kleiner Priester). Taufte über 5000 Dalits (Unberührbare), die niedrigsten unter den Kasten Indiens.

- 16/10:           Welttag der Ernährung, UNO-FAO (1945). Thema für 2009: „In Krisenzeiten Sicherheit der Ernährung erreichen“.

-17/10: Hl. Ignatius von Antiochien, Bischof und Märtyrer, von Kaiser Trajan ad bestias verurteil. Rom +107.

 

************************************************************

Verantwortlich: P. Romeo Baallan – Missionari Comboniani (Verona)
Website: www.euntes.net  “Parola per la Missione”
Deutsch: P. Wilhelm K. Müller SVD

************************************************************

XXVIII Sonntag im Jahreskreis - Lesejahr B

Charity is the soul of Mission

 

Wisdom  7,7-11
Psalm  89
Hebrews  4,12-13
Mark  10,17-30

Reflections

“In the world there is enough for everyone’s needs, but not enough for everyone’s greed” (Ghandi). They are the words of a non-Christian, in tune with the austere teaching of Jesus concerning the use of material goods and the danger of riches. The evangelist Mark leads the catechumen and the disciple in the gradual discovery of the “good news of Jesus Christ, the Son of God” (1,1), subsequently revealing his identity through the miracles and teaching. In the central part of his Gospel, Mark inserts the most exacting requirements of Christian morality, which he groups together around three themes: the conditions to follow Christ (the renunciation of self, the taking up of the cross: 8,32-38); the demands of family life (marriage indissolubility, love and respect for the children: 10,2-16); the use of material goods (the danger of riches, the reward to those who give up material possessions: 10,17-31).
The three themes are spelled out by the three announcements of the passion and resurrection (8,31; 9,31; 10,32-34) and are inserted between the two miracles of Jesus who opens the eyes of two blind people: the blind man of Bethsaida (8,22-25) and the one of Jericho (10,46-52). Particularly meaningful are the words which Jesus says to the latter blind man: “Go, your faith has saved you”. The cured man becomes his disciple and follows him. In today Gospel Mark says that to follow the path of Christian morality – and, therefore, of salvation! – “is impossible with men, but not with God” (v. 27). All is possible to God who opens our eyes to see the path to be followed and, through faith, gives us the strength to follow it.
Christ invites us to put in the first place people not material possessions. He is for the poor but against poverty; he does not propose poverty but communion; goods make sense only if are signs of and instruments for meeting other people, by our sharing. Jesus does not condemn riches in an absolute way, does not praise misery and hunger, but teaches how to use goods: with honesty, justice and charity. The Master looks at the young man of the Gospel, “who had great possessions” (v. 22) and was a faithful observer of the commandments (v. 20), loves him (v. 21) and invites him to go beyond the observance of the law, to make a radical change: to enter, that is, in the logic of charity and sharing of the goods with the poor. In this way one can assert his real freedom concerning things, which are also nice and good, by not becoming dependant or slaves of them. Only in this way life is lived in gratuitousness: like a gift that we share with others. When we follow Christ, we can discover the richness and joy of the Treasure (v. 21).
The wise man (I reading) discovers that the Wisdom which comes from God is worth more than riches, more than health and beauty (v. 9-10). The “living and active” (II reading) word of God, which plumbs the depths of the meaning of things and of the human heart (v. 12), leads us to understand that for Christianity the main virtue is not poverty, not even the giving up of everything, but charity, understood as oblation of self and of our own possessions for a service of love to others. That’s why charity is the soul of Mission: love motivates us to mission and to solidarity. Charity is a sign and instrument of communion among the Churches, in our exchange of gifts. (*)
The words of Jesus to the rich young man have a special ring during the month of October, the mission month: Go, give it to the poor, come and follow me… Mission is to go, always a going out of self, it is to rejoice in the finding of the Treasure which fills our life, it is to feel the urgency of sharing such an experience, it is to discover that the other is more important than our house, it is to share our spiritual and material goods with the people most in need… This is the mission which gives full meaning to life and new flavour to the human family. Great missionary figures give witness to this, figures that the calendar remembers in the month of October: Francis of Assisi, Daniel Comboni, John XXIII, Theresa of Avila, the holy martyrs of Canada, Laura Montoya, Antonio Maria Claret…

 The Pope’s words

 (*) “Missionary zeal has always been a sign of the vitality of our Churches (cf. RMi 2)… I therefore ask all Catholics to pray to the Holy Spirit for an increase in the Church's passion for her mission to spread the Kingdom of God and to support missionaries and Christian communities involved in mission, in the front line, often in situations of hostility and persecution. At the same time I ask everyone, as a credible sign of communion among the Churches, to offer financial assistance, especially in these times of crisis affecting all humanity, to enable the young local Churches to illuminate the nations with the Gospel of charity”.

Benedict XVI
Message for World Mission Sunday 2009

In the missionaries’ footsteps

- 4-25/10: Celebration of the Second African Synod in Rome.

- 11/10: Bl. John XXIII (Angelo Giuseppe Roncalli, 1881-1963), the “good Pope”, who convened (1959) and ushered Vatican Council II on 11 October 1962.

- 12/10 Memorial of 4966 martyrs and confessors (+483) during the persecution of the Vandals of the Arian king Huneric in Northern Africa.

- 12/10: Feast of Our Lady of “Aparecida”, patroness of Brazil, particularly dear to the Afro-Brazilians.

- 12/10: Memorial of Simon Kimbangu (+1951), founder of the Kimbanguist Independent Church in Congo.

- 15/10: St. Theresa of Jesus (Avila, 1515-1582), a reformer of the Carmel and founder of new monasteries; a doctor of the Church for her deep mystical experience about the mystery of God.

- 16/10: St. Margaret Mary Alacoque (1647-1690), from the French monastery of the Visitation at Paray-le-Monial, where she had special apparitions of the Sacred Heart, whose feast she also promoted.

- 16/10: Bl. Augustine Thevarparampil (1891-1973), a priest from India, known by the popular name of “Kunjachan” (the small priest). He baptized over 5000 “dalits” (untouchables), the lowest in the Indian cast system.

- 16/10: World Food Day, organised by ONU-FAO (1945). Theme chosen for 2009: “Achieving food security in times of crisis”.

- 17/10: St. Ignatius of Antioch, bishop and martyr, condemned by the emperor Trajan ad bestias in Rome (+107).

 

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Compiled by Fr. Romeo Ballan, MCCJ - Comboni Missionaries (Verona)
Translated by Fr. Henry Redaelli, MCCJ
Website:  www.euntes.net  “The Word for Mission”

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++